Seal of the Historical Society of the Episcopal ChurchHistorical Society
of the Episcopal Church

Episcopal Historical Society Elects Officers

15 Aug 2022 4:06 PM | HSEC Director of Operations (Administrator)

The Historical Society of the Episcopal Church elected its officers at its annual meeting in July 2022. The president, elected to a first term is Dr. J. Michael Utzinger. Previously he served as Secretary, Vice President and publications committee chair. He succeeds the Rev. Dr. Robyn Neville, president of the Historical Society from 2016 to 2022.

Dr. J. Michael UtzingerUtzinger is the Elliott Professor of Religion at Hampden-Sydney College and long-standing member of Johns Memorial Episcopal Church in Farmville, VA. He is Scholar in Residence at the Robert Russa Moton Museum, the only civil rights museum in Virginia. His publications include yet Saints Their Watch Are Keeping: Fundamentalists, Modernists, and the Development of Evangelical Ecclesiology (Mercer, 2006). His most recent research looks at the role of religious institutions in the development of Virginia’s massive resistance against Brown v. Board and includes the article, “The Tragedy of Prince Edward,” published in Anglican and Episcopal History. The article was awarded the Nelson Burr Prize in 2013. He was a Lilly Fellow in the Arts and Humanities at Valparaiso University, where he earned a B.A. in theology. An M.Div. was earned at Yale University and a doctorate in European and American religious history at the University of Virginia.

Other officers elected to the Board of Directors are: 1st Vice President - the Rev. John Runkle, Principal of John Runkle Architects, PLLC and Vicar of St. James Episcopal Church, Sewanee, TN; 2nd vice-President – the Rev. Dr. Robyn Neville, Director and Academic Dean for the Center for Christian Formation and Leadership for Diocese of Southeast Florida; Secretary - Susan Stonesifer, Historiographer of the Diocese of Washington; and Treasurer - George DeFilippi, member of St. Alban’s Episcopal Church, Annandale, VA.

For over a century the Historical Society of the Episcopal Church has been an association dedicated to preserving and disseminating information about the history of the Episcopal Church and its Anglican heritage. Founded in 1910 as the Church Historical Society, its members include scholars, writers, teachers, ministers (lay and ordained) and others who have an interest in the objectives and activities of the Historical Society.

Historical Society of the Episcopal Church

Dedicated to promoting preservation of the history of the Episcopal Church
A 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization established for educational, charitable and religious purposes
(920) 383-1910 | | PO Box 197, Mineral Point, WI 53565-0197 | © 2024

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software