Shield of the Historical Society of the Episcopal ChurchHistorical Society
of the Episcopal Church

Historical Society of the Episcopal Church (HSEC). Dedicated to the preservation and propagation of information about Episcopal and Anglican Church history.

Founded in 1910 as the Church Historical Society, HSEC focuses on keeping the history of the Episcopal and Anglican Church and sharing it with others. HSEC works to involve members in fulfilling its three objectives. Its members are laity, clergy, scholars, researchers, teachers, students, archivists, historians, professionals and church history enthusiasts. Anyone having an interest in HSEC's objectives is invited to become a member.

HSEC Board Meeting 2018
HSEC Annual Banquet 2014
Tri-History Conference 2019
HSEC Board Meeting 2015
HSEC Board Meeting 2007
Manross Lecture 2018
Tri-History Conference 2013
African American Episcopal Historical Collection Display
HSEC Annual Banquet 2015
General Convention Booth 2015
Tri-History Conference 2013
Tri-History Conference 2013
HSEC Annual Banquet 2016


  1. Promote the preservation of the particular heritage of the Episcopal Church and its antecedents.
  2. Publish a scholarly historical journal each quarter, Anglican and Episcopal History, to aid in this promotion and to be a vehicle for the publication of similar work being done throughout the Anglican Communion.
  3. Cooperate with other societies concerned with the history of the Episcopal Church and other churches of the Anglican Communion to encourage research, writing and education.

Thank You Members!

Members are crucial to the Historical Society's purpose. Dues support grants for research and programs, managing administrative overhead, publishing and conferences. HSEC is thankful for those members who are able to provide contributions which go beyond a regular membership.

Benefactors  ($500 or more)

  • Col. George DeFilippi, Arlington, VA
  • Dr. F. W. Gerbracht, Jr., Wantagh, NY
  • Mr. William H. Gleason, Wheat Ridge, CO
  • Mr. Matthew P. Payne, Appleton, WI
  • The Rev. Dr. Warren C. Platt, New York, NY
  • The Rev. Dr. Robert W. Prichard, Alexandria, VA
  • The Rev. John A. Runkle, RA
  • The Rev. Dr. Gardiner H. Shattuck, Jr., Warwick, RI

Patrons ($250-$500)

  • Mr. Herschel "Vince" Anderson, Tempe, AZ
  • The Rev. Cn. Robert G. Carroon, PhD, Hartford, CT
  • Mr. John H. Churchman, Arlington, VA

  • Dr. Mary S. Donovan, Highlands Ranch, CO

  • The Rt. Rev. Edward L. Lee, Jr., Haverford, PA
  • The Rev. Stephen A. Little, Santa Rosa, CA
  • Prof. Frederick V. Mills, Sr., La Grange, GA
  • Mrs. Julia E. Randle, Arlington, VA

  • The Rev. Dr. Bindy W. Snyder, Athens, GA
  • Dr. William A Weber, Long Beach, CA

  • The Rev. Dr. Brian K. Wilbert, Cleveland, OH

Sustaining Members ($100-$250)

  • Christopher H. Achen, Princeton, NJ
  • Philip E. Blank, Jr., Chapel Hill, NC
  • Jeffrey K. Butcher, Louisville, KY

  • The Rev. Lawrence N. Crumb, Eugene, OR
  • The Rev. Paul Evans, Saratoga Springs, NY
  • Charles Everett, Easton, PA
  • Mr. Charles L. Farrar, S.Th. (Cantuar), South Hill, VA
  • The Rev. Christopher P.J. Golding, Baton Rouge, LA
  • Julie C. Groce, Macon, GA

  • Mr. Jay L. Hoffman, San Francisco, CA
  • Cn. William F. Honaman, DHL, Lititz, PA

  • Prof. Daniel W. Howe, Sherman Oaks, CA
  • Ms. Edna Johnston, Richmond, VA

  • Prof. Norman L. Jones, Nibley, UT
  • The Rev. Dr. John L. Kater, Jr., Winchester, VA

  • Mr. Wayne H. Kempton, New York, NY
  • Dr. Thomas A. Mason, Indianapolis, IN
  • Dr. Hannah Matis, Alexandria, VA
  • Mr. J. Gage McKinney, Grass Valley, CA
  • Prof Willis H.A. Moore, Honolulu, HI

  • The Rev. Dcn. Daphne B. Noyes, Cambridge, MA
  • The Rev. Borden W. Painter, Jr., West Hartford, CT
  • The Rev. Dr. Jason Poling, Reisterstown, MD
  • Dr. Elizabeth A. Potter, Sheboygan Falls, WI
  • Percy Preston, Jr., New York, NY

  • The Very Rev. Robert D. Schenkel, Jr., Bethlehem, PA
  • Miss Lorraine Marie Simonis, Haverford, PA
  • The Very Rev. William S. Stafford, Ph.D., D.D, San Jose, CA
  • The Rev. Cn. Dr. Gregory S. Straub, Fort Lauderdale, FL
  • The Rev. William B. Taylor, Jr., Carrollton, VA
  • The Rev. Dr. Robert B. Tobin, London, UK
  • Janet R. Vanderwaart, Stamford, CT
  • Kevin Walters, Mamaroneck, NY
  • The Rev. Dr. Christopher L. Webber, San Francisco, CA

Historical Society of the Episcopal Church

Dedicated to preserving and disseminating information about the history of the Episcopal Church and its antecedents.
A 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization established for educational, charitable and religious purposes.
(920) 383-1910 | | PO Box 1301, Appleton, WI 54912-1301 | © 2021

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software